Member Spotlight

Current Spotlight...


Yuri Bruinen de Bruin, Ph.D.

After co-chairing the ISES2016 meeting together with Lesa Aylward and serving for 9 years for the RIVM, I accepted a short-term new challenge at the European Commission's Joint Research Centre based in Italy. I now work in the area of risk assessment, management, mitigation and prevention of hazardous chemicals at the EU's Major Accident and Hazard Bureau (MAHB). I am involved in capacity building in EU neighbourhood countries, modernizing outreach and information exchange for EU and non-EU countries available for inspectors and safety managers and research and analyses on global chemical incidences. One of my biggest challenges now is how to bridge the field of external safety and chemical accidents (EU Seveso III Directive) to exposure sciences. Please contact me for any inspiring ideas!!! 

Further, during the annual meeting of SETAC Europe (the 2017 theme is “Environmental Quality through Transdisciplinary Collaboration”), a special session entitled “Do we have the right tools to identify emerging hazards and risks?” is organised by members from both SETAC and ISES and renowned invited speakers. Chairs for this session are Georg Streck (European Commission), Yuri Bruinen de Bruin (European Commission), Jos Bessems (European Commission) and Joost Bakker (RIVM, Netherlands). Several other sessions are also interesting for bringing together SETAC and ISES members around exposure science and emerging hazards and risks. A special welcome to ISES members to the SETAC Europe Annual Meeting! Registration is now open, delegates can benefit from the early bird fee until 15 March 2017. See for more information: and

Last, but not least, I am involved in the setting up and consolidation of the International Society of Exposure Science (ISES) Europe aiming to set up a European Strategy on Exposure Science. 



Judy LaKind

Crystal Romeo Upperman

Sonja Sax

Brian Curwin

Anne M. Riederer

Christopher Simpson