Every year, ISES recognizes extraordinary research and work in the field of exposure science. Nominations are typically open in the spring. These honorees are recognized every year at the annual meeting.

Excellence in Exposure Science Award

With the end of funding for the Constance L. Mehlman Award and a need to redefine the Jerome J. Wesolowski Award, the ISES Board has established a new award to recognize individuals who have left an indelible mark in the field of exposure science. This award established in 2018 is inspired by the work of visionary individuals who have helped shape the field of exposure science and who supported the origins and growth of the ISES and have now passed on but left a strong legacy.

Joan M. Daisey Outstanding Young Scientist Award

To recognize outstanding contributions to the science of human exposure analysis by a young scientist

ISES Award for Best JESEE Paper

To recognize ISES members for work published in the Journal of Exposure Science and Environmental Epidemiology (JESEE) that exemplifies the best in the field of exposure science.

ISES Award for Best Student Paper

To recognize student or recent graduate ISES members for published work that exemplifies the best student-authored papers in the field of exposure science.

JESEE Young Investigator Meeting Award

This award supports student and new researcher (researcher within 10 years of terminal degree) participation at the ISES annual meetings.

IPA/DGUV Award for Young Exposure Scientists

To foster research in exposure areas with linkages to biomonitoring for superior doctoral students working on their dissertation or superior first-year postdoctoral exposure scientists

Former Awards

Jerome J. Wesolowski Award

In recognition of outstanding contributions to the knowledge and practice of human exposure assessment. Final award given in 2017.

Constance L. Mehlman Award

In recognition of outstanding contributions in exposure analysis research that helped shape a national or state policy or that provided new approaches for reduction or prevention of exposures.  Final award given in 2017.

Early Career Award

To encourage persons beginning their professional careers to conduct research on various challenging issues related to human exposure analysis (awarded 2002, 2003, and 2004)