ISES 2020 Award Winners

The International Society of Exposure Science is pleased to announce the winners of this year’s awards. Every year, ISES recognizes a select few individuals doing extraordinary research and work in the field of exposure science. Although we cannot all be together in Oakland, we are looking forward to honoring these winners at the virtual conference.

Excellence in Exposure Science Award

With the end of funding for the Constance L. Mehlman Award and a need to redefine the Jerome J. Wesolowski Award, the ISES Board has established a new award to recognize individuals who have left an indelible mark in the field of exposure science. This award established in 2018 is inspired by the work of visionary individuals who have helped shape the field of exposure science and who supported the origins and growth of the ISES and have now passed on but left a strong legacy.

Rosemary Zaleski, PhD

Principal Scientist at Lumina Consulting

Dr. Rosemary Zaleski has contributed internationally to the development of exposure factor data resources and consumer exposure models. Her publications also include the areas of child specific exposure assessment and multimedia modeling. She has served as Councilor on the ISES board, student mentor, JESEE editorial team, and founding member and councilor of the first local chapter. Other service includes the ECETOC Scientific Committee, Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development and also Health and Environmental Science Institute international committees, and USEPA peer review panels. She is currently Principal Scientist at Lumina Consulting, with a PhD in Environmental Science from Rutgers University.

Joan M. Daisey Outstanding Young Scientist Award

To recognize outstanding contributions to the science of human exposure analysis by a young scientist

Peter Fantke, PhD

Associate Professor for Quantitative Sustainability Assessment at the Technical University of Denmark (DTU)

Peter Fantke is Associate Professor for Quantitative Sustainability Assessment at the Technical University of Denmark (DTU). He develops quantitative methods and data for assessing emissions, fate, exposure, and toxicological effects of chemicals and air pollutants, with a special focus on integrating consumer, worker and population exposure along entire product life cycles.

He is director of USEtox, the UNEP/SETAC scientific consensus model for characterizing chemical toxicity and ecotoxicity. Peter’s methods are applied in life cycle analysis, sustainability assessment, risk screening, chemical substitution, and cost-benefit analysis, and inform companies and regulators alike.

ISES Award for Best JESEE Paper

To recognize ISES members for work published in the Journal of Exposure Science and Environmental Epidemiology (JESEE) that exemplifies the best in the field of exposure science.

 Alissa Cordner, PhD

Lead Author

Associate Professor and Paul Garrett Fellow at Whitman College

Paper: Guideline levels for PFOA and PFOS in drinking water: the role of scientific uncertainty, risk assessment decisions, and social factors.
Co-Authors: Vanessa Y. De La Rosa, Laurel A. Schaider, Ruthann A. Rudel, Lauren Richter, Phil Brown

Dr. Alissa Cordner is Associate Professor and Paul Garrett Fellow at Whitman College, where she teaches sociology and environmental studies courses. Her research focuses on environmental sociology, the sociology of risk and disasters, environmental health and justice, and public engagement in science and policy making. She is the author of Toxic Safety: Flame Retardants, Chemical Controversies, and Environmental Health and the co-author of The Civic Imagination: Making a Difference in American Political Life. She co-directs the PFAS Project Lab and is the co-PI of two NSF grants related to PFAS science, regulation, and activism.

ISES Award for Best Student Paper

To recognize student or recent graduate ISES members for published work that exemplifies the best student-authored papers in the field of exposure science.

Anna Rosofsky, PhD

Staff Scientist at the Health Effects Institute in the Energy Research Program.

Paper title: The impact of air exchange rate on ambient air pollution exposure and inequalities across all residential parcels in Massachusetts.

Anna Rosofsky is a Staff Scientist at the Health Effects Institute in the Energy Research Program. In this role, Rosofsky performs literature review, program development, and research implementation activities to understand potential human exposure and health impacts from unconventional oil and gas development. She has published on environmental health disparities and prenatal chemical exposures. Rosofsky received a Ph.D. in Environmental Health from Boston University School of Public Health, where she studied spatiotemporal patterns of ambient air pollution exposure and early-childhood health outcomes. She received her master’s in Environmental Science and Policy from Clark University.

JESEE Young Investigator Meeting Award

This award supports student and new researcher (researcher within 10 years of terminal degree) participation at the ISES annual meetings.

Élyse Caron-Beaudoin, PhD

Assistant Professor in environmental health at the University of Toronto – Scarborough

Élyse Caron-Beaudoin is an Assistant Professor in environmental health at the University of Toronto – Scarborough. Her research focuses on the development of transdisciplinary community-based research projects to assess the impacts of anthropogenic pressures on health by combining information from multiple levels of biological organization. Élyse holds a PhD in biology with a specialization in toxicology from the INRS – Armand-Frappier Institute, Canada. From 2018 to 2020, she was a CIHR-funded postdoctoral fellow at the Université de Montreal, Canada. During her fellowship, Élyse investigated the associations between density and proximity to hydraulic fracturing wells and birth outcomes in Northeastern British Columbia.

IPA/DGUV Award for Young Exposure Scientists

To foster research in exposure areas with linkages to biomonitoring for superior doctoral students working on their dissertation or superior first-year postdoctoral exposure scientists

Jamaji C. Nwanaji-Enwerem, PhD

Final-year MD and Master in Public Policy candidate at Harvard Medical School and Harvard Kennedy School

Jamaji C. Nwanaji-Enwerem holds a PhD from Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health/Harvard Graduate School of Arts and Sciences. He is also a final-year MD and Master in Public Policy candidate at Harvard Medical School and Harvard Kennedy School. Dr. Nwanaji-Enwerem has authored over 24 environmental health publications in the last four years, and earned grants from reputable bodies like the National Institute on Aging. Dr. Nwanaji-Enwerem hopes to use his education as a tool to alleviate health-related disparities that affect the world’s most vulnerable populations. Given the impact of COVID-19 and increased attention towards systemic racial injustice, he has recently co-authored two important works entitled “Another invisible enemy indoors: COVID-19, human health, the home, and United States indoor air policy,” and “Police brutality is our lane too, doctors say.