Member Spotlight

Current spotlight…

Marder-outdoor headshot 2

Elizabeth Marder, Ph.D.

Dr. Elizabeth Marder is a Senior Environmental Scientist with California EPA’s Office of Environmental Health Hazard Assessment (OEHHA). Dr. Marder has experience in exposure assessment, chemical risk assessment, and risk communication. Her primary responsibilities within OEHHA are conducting chemical – and scenario – specific exposure assessments and providing technical support for human health risk assessments.

Dr. Marder earned her B.S. in Environmental Toxicology at the University of California, Davis and her M.S. and Ph.D. in Environmental Health Sciences at Emory University under Dr. Dana Barr. Dr. Marder has authored and co-authored a number of technical documents and journal articles, as well as other written materials to communicate complex exposure information on chemicals of interest to a range of audiences. She also lectures in environmental toxicology and risk assessment at the University of California, Davis.

Dr. Marder has been an active member the International Society for Exposure Science since 2011; she currently Chairs the Society’s Communications and Outreach Committee (if you follow ISES on Twitter- you can thank her for starting that initiative!) and has previously served as both an elected member of the Board and as Co-Chair of the Student and New Researcher Committee. Dr. Marder has continuously volunteered with technical organizing committees for the Society’s annual meetings since 2014. In the past year, she also served on the Society’s Strategic Planning Task Force. Dr. Marder received the Society’s inaugural award for Best Student Paper.

When not busy as “Dr. Marder”, Elizabeth enjoys getting outside in Northern California as much as possible- usually accompanied by her border collie Luna. She also spends her free time working on her golf game, traveling with friends and family, and volunteering in her local community.

Past Spotlights


Judy LaKind

Crystal Romeo Upperman

Sonja Sax

Brian Curwin

Anne M. Riederer


Christopher Simpson

Yuri Bruinen De Bruin

Lisa Baxter

Erin Haynes

Lesliam Quirós-Alcalá


Rick Peltier

Paloma Beamer

Zhi-Hua (Tina) Fan

Shahid Parvez

Sung Roul Kim

Elizabeth Boyle

Markey Johnson

Natalie von Gotz


Lisa Melnyk

Donghai Liang

Antonia Calafat

Tom McKone



Mary Kay O’Rourke 

Paul T.J. Scheepers

Nicolle S. Tulve

Robert Scofield, Ph.D

Elizabeth Marder, Ph.D

Dr. Satoshi Nakai

Jamaji C. Nwanaji-Enwerem

Ana Maria Rule


Jamaji C. Nwanaji Enwerem