Member Spotlight

Current spotlight…

Jamaji Nwanaji-Enwerem

Jamaji C. Nwanaji-Enwerem

Jamaji C. Nwanaji-Enwerem is an 9th (and final) year MD-PhD-MPP candidate at Harvard Medical School and Harvard Kennedy School. He graduated Phi Beta Kappa, Valedictorian from Morehouse College with a BS in Biology, and earned his PhD in the Harvard University Biological Sciences in Public Health program with a focus in Environmental Health. His dissertation examined the relationships of long-term air pollution exposure with biological aging in the elderly. 

Dr. Nwanaji-Enwerem is an NIH National Research Service Award Principal Investigator and a Paul & Daisy Soros Fellow. His present research examines the topics of environmental exposures, health biomarkers, and science/health/environmental public policy.  Dr. Nwanaji-Enwerem is the author of several peer-reviewed research articles. His broader research interests include the topics of aging-related diseases, biomarkers, exposure biology, and environmental health. 

Dr. Nwanaji-Enwerem has been a member of the International Society of Exposure Science since 2017 and currently serves on the Board as an elected Student Councilor.  In addition to his dedication to research and medicine, Dr. Nwanaji-Enwerem has a strong passion for community enrichment through service and education. He hopes to use his education as a tool to alleviate health-related disparities that affect the world’s most vulnerable populations.

Given the impact of COVID-19 and increased attention towards systemic racial injustice, he has recently co-authored two important works entitled “Another invisible enemy indoors: COVID-19, human health, the home, and United States indoor air policy,” and “Police brutality is our lane too, doctors say.”

Past Spotlights

Judy LaKind

Crystal Romeo Upperman

Sonja Sax

Brian Curwin

Anne M. Riederer

Christopher Simpson

Yuri Bruinen De Bruin

Lisa Baxter

Erin Haynes

Lesliam Quirós-Alcalá

Rick Peltier

Paloma Beamer

Zhi-Hua (Tina) Fan

Shahid Parvez

Sung Roul Kim

Elizabeth Boyle

Markey Johnson

Natalie von Gotz

Lisa Melnyk

Donghai Liang

Antonia Calafat

Tom McKone


Mary Kay O’Rourke 

Paul T.J. Scheepers

Nicolle S. Tulve

Robert Scofield, Ph.D

Elizabeth Marder, Ph.D

Dr. Satoshi Nakai

Ana Maria Rule

Jamaji C. Nwanaji Enwerem