Member Spotlight

Current spotlight…

McKone Image

Tom McKone

We are proud to showcase Tom McKone as this month’s Member Spotlight.  He was recently honored for his contributions to the field of Exposure Science as one of the Director’s Award Lifetime Achievement recipients by Berkeley Lab.  The Director’s Awards program recognizes significant achievements of Lab employees. Each year, these awards are given for accomplishments, leadership, collaboration, multi-disciplinary science, cross-divisional projects, and commitment to excellence in support of the Lab’s mission and strategic goals.

Tom McKone has worked for more than thirty-five years as a researcher and faculty member with the University of California. He retired from the University in 2015 but continues his research and student/staff mentoring as a senior scientist and advisor on energy analysis and environmental impacts at Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory (LBNL) and as a Professor Emeritus of Environmental Health Sciences at the University of California, Berkeley (UCB) School of Public Health. McKone earned a PhD in engineering from UCLA in 1981.

McKone’s research career has focused on the development, use, and evaluation of models and data for the assessing the health and environmental impacts of energy, industrial, and agricultural systems. His specific research interests include: the transport and transformation of harmful substances in the environment; biotransfer and bioconcentration; environmental radioactivity; measuring and modeling dermal and inhalation exposures to contaminants in tap water and household dust; chemical mass transport at inter-media contacts such as air/water, air/soil, air/vegetation, skin/water, etc.; and assessing model uncertainty and reliability.  He has authored more than 160 papers in archival peer-reviewed journals. One of his most notable research efforts was the development of the CalTOX risk assessment framework for the California Environmental Protection Agency. The CalTOX model was used widely in the regulatory, academic and environmental communities. It was a core model used to construct the USEtox life-cycle impact assessment model, which is used worldwide by governments, industries, and researchers.

McKone has been a member of ISES since its founding as the International Society of Exposure Analysis (ISEA) in 1989. He served as ISEA president in 1997, Co-Chaired (with Jed Waldman) the 2000 International Conference in Asilomar CA, is president of the California ISES chapter, and has served as member and chair of the Awards Committee. He has received from ISES both the Constance L. Mehlman Award for “contributions in exposure analysis research that have…helped shape national and state policies” and the Jerome J. Wesolowski award for outstanding contributions to the field of exposure science. He is a fellow of the Society for Risk Analysis. He has been a member of more than a dozen National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine (NASEM) committees and served on its Board on Environmental Studies and Toxicology. He was a member of the NASEM committee that prepared the report “Exposure Science in the 21st Century.” McKone was appointed in 2007 by California Governor Arnold Schwarzenegger to the Scientific Guidance Panel for the California Environmental Contaminants Biomonitoring Program and continues to serve on this panel. He also served on the US EPA Science Advisory Board for six years, worked with several World Health Organization (WHO) committees, and has been on consultant committees for the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD), the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA), and the Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO). Over the last decade he has been a leader in the international Life-Cycle Initiative.

Past Spotlights


Judy LaKind

Crystal Romeo Upperman

Sonja Sax

Brian Curwin

Anne M. Riederer


Christopher Simpson

Yuri Bruinen De Bruin

Lisa Baxter

Erin Haynes

Lesliam Quirós-Alcalá


Rick Peltier

Paloma Beamer

Zhi-Hua (Tina) Fan

Shahid Parvez

Sung Roul Kim

Elizabeth Boyle

Markey Johnson

Natalie von Gotz


Lisa Melnyk

Donghai Liang

Antonia Calafat

Tom McKone